If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Excerpt: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry / @lauradrewry


Title: Prima Donna
Author: Laura Drewry
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: September 23, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, Romance



In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together . . . barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.



Excerpt:

“Sweet mother of God, he cut his hair.” Maya’s soft blue eyes gaped over the rim of her wineglass as Carter made his way from the far end of Jayne’s house and waded into the crowded living room.

From where Regan stood in the kitchen, she had to lean way back to look, then grinned and went back to the platter Jayne asked her to fill.

“Choose your next words carefully,” she warned. “That’s some of my best work you’re looking at.”

She rinsed a bunch of grapes in the sink, patted them dry, and set them between slices of Gouda and Havarti.

You did that?” Maya was openly gaping now, her eyes wider than Regan had ever seen them. “Well done, my friend. Very well done.”

“Thank you.” Regan filled a few gaps on the plate with more cheese, then leaned back against the island next to her friend so she could gawk at Carter, too. “Blink, Maya. And for God’s sake, close your mouth.”

Maya did as she was told, then blew a long appreciative breath. “Wow.”

“Yeah.”

What with the voices in the living room and Mellencamp blasting from the speakers, it was impossible to hear what Nick said to him, but Carter ran his hand through his freshly cut hair and grinned; part cocky, part self-conscious, and totally hot.

“Oh sweet Lord, I think my ovaries just exploded.” Maya’s quiet purr faded to an almost whimper. “Please tell me he’s still single and please tell me I’m imagining that he keeps checking you out, Reg.”

If Maya had any idea how much Regan had been checking Carter out already, she’d shit a duck. It wasn’t funny, but that didn’t stop Regan from grinning.

“Oh my God,” Maya gaped. “You little tramp! What else did you do to him while you had him in your chair?”

“What?” Regan cried. “Nothing!”

“Uh-huh. You’re such a liar.” She rolled her eyes over the rim of her glass and snorted. “You could fry an egg off that sizzle, Reg, and if I were you, I’d ditch this shindig in a heartbeat and go get me some of that. Dollars to doughnuts he’s the best sex you’ll ever have.”

Regan couldn’t decide if Carter heard Maya, or if it was by chance he happened to grin over at them right then. Either way, she wished she hadn’t just taken the last sip of her drink because as her throat tried to swallow it, she sucked in a breath and ended up choking.

Not just a quick cough, either, but a full-body, set-the-glass-down-and-stagger-from-the-room-before-you-hack-up-a-kidney kind of choke.

Loveswept © 2014 Laura Drewry

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

2 comments: