If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Review (+18 for review language) : Rush by Gina Gordon / @TastyBookTours @GordonGina




Title: Rush
Series: White Lace, Book 1
Author: Gina Gordon
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours



In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things.

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.





Wow! What an incredible story of discovery and self-realization.

Max and Everly are on their way to futures that have already been decided for or expected of them. But they aren't happy as they head down those roads. It isn't until they meet, until Max challenges Everly to complete her Gram's bucket list by saying he'll help her with it, that they realize how much they were missing out on by not following their hearts.

This story isn't fluffy by any means. It isn't angsty. It isn't devastating darkness. It's lighthearted and real. While I can't claim I was ever heir to a porn empire or that I studied my ass off to be a lawyer, I do know what it's like to aim for a goal that wasn't mine, to put all my effort into achieving something that didn't make me happy.The weight of living under someone else's expectations were all too real when I read this story, but so was that moment when Max and Everly decided to pursue their own dreams so they could be happy.

Stepping off the well-marked path was a huge leap for both of them. Everly's parents didn't take her decision too well, which was too bad really. They didn't have to understand her decision, but acceptance would have done wonders for their damaged relationship. Max's father was the opposite. It was hard for him to understand Max's decision at first but he came around, and their relationship was a million times better because of that. It made Max's transition easier. That and he had Everly's unwavering love, support and belief in him.

Ms. Gordon did a marvelous job with Max and Everly. She gave them depth, made them approachable. The dual POVs made understanding their individual struggles easier, and made me feel for both of them. I wanted them to find success but not at the cost of their own happiness. I wanted them to find happiness but not at the cost of their relationship. Being able to see inside their heads created that urgency inside of me for them, made me want to see their story to the end and hope it was everything they deserved.

If the synopsis made you pass this book up, I hope you reconsider. It's more than tits, pussies, cocks, balls, and hot sex. It's about people wanting more out of life, realizing they deserve it, and going after it. Not because they know they can, but because they found someone who believes in them enough to want to pursue it.





When her dream of becoming a mafia princess didn’t pan out, Gina Gordon went after her second dream: becoming a writer. And she hasn’t looked back. A self-proclaimed happily-ever-after junkie and cupcake connoisseur, Gordon loves spinning contemporary tales of knee-bending first kisses, unconditional love, and super-hot sex. She lives in Milton, Ontario, with her husband and their lovable dog.



1 comment: