If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Ruby Ink by L.J. Wilson / @TLCBookTours @LJWilsonBooks

Title: Ruby Ink
Series: Clairmont Series Novel, Book 1
Author: L.J. Wilson
Publisher: AB Edge
Release Date: March 31, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Ruby Ink is the first book in this sensual romance series—journeys of intrigue, seduction, and satisfying storytelling. The Clairmont siblings, known as the "Tribe of Five" —Alec, Aaron, Honor, Jake and Troy—are complex characters whose individual stories and intricate love lives drive these dynamic new novels.

In Ruby Ink, Aaron Clairmont has been granted an early parole. He returns home to Nickel Springs and finds employment at Abstract Enchantment, a trendy new inn. But Aaron’s mind can’t let go of its predecessor, the vintage Rose Arch Inn, the setting for his passionate love affair with Ruby Vasquez. Ruby—the girl Aaron lost after his secret underworld life unraveled, shocking everyone who thought they knew him.

Freedom comes fast at Aaron—a family desperate to reconnect, an employer cast as his savior, and the steamy memories he can’t escape. Just as Aaron surrenders to starting anew, he realizes the diabolical trap he’s been lured into—a fresh hell that makes prison look like a country club. Lives are at stake, his family and Ruby’s. Ruby Vasquez—the woman Aaron never thought he’d see again. The one destined to collide with his future.

Watch for book two in the Clairmont Series Novels where readers learn the surprising and intimate story behind the family legacy.

Execution is everything and Ms. Wilson's execution of this story is stunning.

Aaron and Ruby's love is young but it's strong, tangible. Or is it? It felt like it at first and I desperately wanted it to stay that way. But in the face of lies and betrayal, I wondered how I ever thought that.

This is one those stories that I can't pen a long review for. It isn't for lack of trying though. This story isn't as cut and dry as I thought it'd be. Each twist and turn yielded surprises I didn't expect, pulling the story and characters in directions I wasn't prepared to go in.

If you're going to read this, stay sharp and focused. It isn't a light read. It isn't filled with frou-frou fluffy shit. It's heart- and gut-wrenching. It left me on the edge of my seat one second, then had me leaning back needing to take a breather the next. It was one hell of a ride reading this story, but each rise and fall was worth experiencing.

I haven't read any of Ms. Wilson's other books, and I wonder if they're as... I don't know what the word is. Not twisted, not sadistic, not mindfucking. I don't know what the word is, but I do know that an author who has the ability to pen a story with such emotional and mental precision as Ms. Wilson is an author worth following and getting to know.

L. J. Wilson is the pen name of award-winning author Laura Spinella. The Clairmont series novels are her foray into seductive romance, a facet of her women’s fiction that had readers clamoring for more. Beautiful Disaster and Perfect Timing, her mainstream work, have earned multiple awards, including the distinguished Golden Leaf and Golden Quill awards for Best First Book, as well as being named a RITA finalist.

Written with a “best-of” mindset, L. J. Wilson novels are sensual reads for discerning book lovers—stories that delve even deeper into her characters’ relationships and romances.

Laura describes herself as an “East Coast kind of girl,” growing up on Long Island, graduating from the University of Georgia, and having lived on Maryland’s Eastern Shore. She now resides outside Boston with her family.

1 comment: