If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Review: Accidentally in Love by Laura Drewry / @TastyBookTours @lawradrewry





Title: Accidentally in Love
Series: Friends First, Book 3
Author: Laura Drewry
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: June 16, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours

Follow the tour


Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will love Laura Drewry’s warm and humorous new Friends First romance, a sexy romp about a good cop and a bad girl playing hard to get.

Ellie Palmer and cops don’t mix, and getting pulled over by Officer Brett Hale—again—doesn’t help. Neither does being forced to take a safe-driving course with him. Brett’s by-the-book attitude leaves Ellie ice-cold, and his rock-hard body won’t change that. Still, the more time she spends with the guy, the more she finds herself warming up to his unexpected charms.

Even though Brett comes off like a boy scout, Ellie has sparked something he wants badly enough to get him to rethink his past mistakes. But when her ex shows up, Brett makes it his mission to keep Ellie safe in the here and now. His gut tells him the guy’s trouble, and Ellie must agree, because she doesn’t complain when Brett pulls her close. To keep her safe, though, he’ll have to choose between breaking her heart . . . and breaking the rules.



Other books in this series


Like Ellie, I wanted to see Brett smile and hear him laugh more. Both were so rare for him that when he did either it was like Christmas in July. While I wish I could say I understood his reason for not doing either of those things that much, I can't. But I can say that it made sense.

It just...shouldn't have gone on for so long.

His sister would not have approved.

Tragedy can make or break you. For Brett, it nearly broke him. He lost his twin sister to a drunk driver, lost his parents when they buried her. His smile was his sister's smile. His laugh might not have been the same as hers, but laughter accompanied smiles. Without one, there usually isn't the other. Ellie might've drove him crazy with her smart mouth, icy facade, and lead foot, but she got him better than even his ex-girlfriend did, made him want to smile and laugh because life, he discovered, was filled with more than enough reasons to do both.

Ellie's dislike and distrust of police officers stemmed from her wrongful arrest years ago thanks to her ex-boyfriend's drug habit. Those only deepened when she was in a hit-and-run and the driver was never found. Relying on them when her ex, off probation for good behavior and all that crap, shows up isn't an option. She's got her friends and her wits about her. She doesn't need the men in blue for protection, mainly because she knows they can't do anything when all he's done is sit outside or across the street from her shop and watch her.

But Brett's not having any of that. Not only is he stuck spending an insane amount of time with her for driving school (he's the instructor), but he was the officer who worked her hit-and-run case. The fact that the driver was never found and that the hit-and-run had been deliberate has never sat well with him. Protecting Ellie is now more important than getting her to pass his driving school class.

A pretend relationship isn't a new trope in romances. The idea is probably as old as a marriage of convenience. The execution of the pretend relationship is what sets it apart from all others I might read about. Mind you, I didn't feel there was any attraction whatsoever between Ellie and Brett. Dislike, distrust, a need to be more than himself, absolutely. Attraction? Pft. Yeah. Right.

But Ms. Drewry made it happen. Time together for driving school and then a fake relationship to force her ex to act turned their strained relationship into friendship then into love. It made the reality that Brett's transfer to another unit was official harder for both of them to deal with, and the short two months they spent apart proved being together was the best thing either had experienced in a long time.

Ms. Drewry is a new-to-me author and this is a new-to-me series. I loved the sarcasm and honesty that drove this story forward, but I loved the characters and their faults even more. Relatable characters, slowly developed attraction, and a small dose of suspense made this an all-around enjoyable story for this reader and would be a great indulgence for anyone who loves contemporary romances.


 

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.



2 comments:

  1. Thank you for hosting ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE and I am so happy you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Miriam - thank you so much for hosting us today and for the great review!! :)
    Cheers!!

    Laura

    ReplyDelete