If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Review: Falling Fast by Tina Wainscott / @TastyBookTours @Tina_Wainscott





Title: Falling Fast
Series: Falling Fast, Book 1
Author: Tina Wainscott
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: June 16, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours

Follow the tour




Fans of Jasinda Wilder and Colleen Hoover will adore this emotional new small-town romance—a smoldering tale of first love and long-awaited redemption from USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott.

Raleigh West works in an auto shop day and night, trying to put his broken past out of mind. It’s been seven years since the fiery crash that landed his teenage sweetheart in the hospital . . . and him in jail. In an instant, he lost everything: his passion for racing, his hope of escaping his father’s shameful legacy, and the only girl he ever loved. Raleigh hasn’t seen her since that awful night. Never got a chance to apologize. And never forgave himself, either.

When brave, beautiful Mia Wentworth returns to the Florida coast for the first time in what seems like forever, it’s not to see Raleigh. Even so, the moment she arrives she can feel his presence like a gust of wind that gives her goose bumps. Opening her heart to him again seems impossible. But staying away? That might be harder still. Lucky for them both, Mia’s never been the kind of woman to take the easy way out.







Hmm... This was an unexpected surprise. It seemed like your standard second chance romance yet it turned out to be more than that.

Raleigh and Mia's relationship has been on hold for seven years. Seven really long years. The circumstances of their parting were devastating to both, I think more for Raleigh than Mia. Don't get me wrong. Breakups, whether by choice or by force, are hard. But where Mia seemed to grow exponentially, even if it was an extremely sheltered way of growing, Raleigh growth was stunted by the guilt he carried.

And I understood that.

Not because I've been in his shoes but because his guilt was palpable.

The way Mia and Raleigh connected, even if it wasn't intentional at first, was instantaneous and worth reading about. It made it obvious to me that their love wasn't just a summer fling or teenage infatuation mistaken for love. Their love was real and lasting. The question was, would they be able to move forward together despite their past and the emotional toll it took on them.

Their past isn't revealed in flashbacks (warning for those of you looking for them) but told by them in the present tense. It was kind of maddening at first to be told instead of shown, I'm not gonna lie about that. As a reader, I'm accustomed to seeing the past, not being told the past. But the choice to write it that way gave this story a unique take so unlike other second chance romances I've read so far.

Now, readers, I will tell you that this is a slow paced story. It isn't dark, erotic, angst riddled, or vengeful. There is one expected turn of events that occurs but it does nothing to move the pace along. However, the slow pace serves a purpose. I know not everyone will agree with me on that but it really does. If this story were faster, I think I'd feel rushed toward an expected conclusion that would mostly be void of emotion, resolution, and growth. The pace Ms. Wainscott set is perfect for Mia and Raleigh. I loved getting to know them in the present while getting to their past at the same time. The depth of their feelings for one another and for the night that tore them apart burned through the pages.

Like I said, this story took me by surprise. Between the plot, the characters, the situations, and the emotions, Ms. Wainscott wrote a wonderful story of what it means to love despite circumstances and what others say.






USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott has always loved the combination of romance and suspense, because nothing complements falling in love better than being hunted down. The author of more than thirty novels and novellas, Wainscott creates characters with baggage, past hurts, and vulnerabilities. They go through hell, find love, and, at the end, find peace in who they are and everything they’ve gone through. And isn’t that what everyone wants?



2 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for hosting FALLING FAST!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting Falling Fast, and your insightful review!

    ReplyDelete