If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Monday, October 12, 2015

Review: All I Need Is You by Wendy S. Marcus / @TastyBookTours @WendySMarcus




Title: All I Need Is You
Series: Loving You, Book 2
Author: Wendy S. Marcus
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours

Follow the tour


Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr, this sexy yet sweet military romance reunites a headstrong dancer and a rugged army soldier after one steamy encounter tears them apart.

As a dancer who creates mesmerizing visions onstage, Neve James is looking for the same kind of stability in her love life. Her pen pal, Rory McRoy, is on leave from deployment in Afghanistan, so she heads to Boston to surprise him. After corresponding for months as part of a “Support Our Troops” initiative—and exchanging dozens of “Read When You’re Alone” letters—Neve knows what Rory likes, and she intends to fulfill his every fantasy. But all they get are a few blissful moments together before they’re interrupted by a woman claiming to be Rory’s fiancĂ©e.

Rory has fallen hard for Neve’s letters. When he finally meets her in person, he has to have her, right then and there—until Neve takes off in a fit of anger. Forced to return to Afghanistan before he can fix things between them, Rory waits four agonizing months to prove that he’s not the man Neve thinks he is. But by the time he arrives in New York, she’s already made up her mind. Luckily, Rory never backs down from a challenge, and he’s prepared to put everything on the line for love.

Advance praise for All I Need Is You
“Wendy S. Marcus has penned a perfect romance in All I Need Is You, with a sexy dancer heroine, a hot military hero with a sense of humor, and a story you won’t want to end.” — New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor



Other books in this series


So... Neve. She was a handful in Loving You is Easy and I was so glad her spunkiness didn't change in this story.

She is beauty in motion when she dances, and that beauty is intensified by the fierce loyalty and intense feelings she harbors. She doesn't do anything by half, throwing herself heart and soul into whatever she applies herself to. Which is why her relationship with Rory was so much. She got to know him through letters. Now she has a chance to know him in person. Except their meeting turned into one humongous misunderstanding.

To be fair, the appearance of Rory's "fiancee" threw me. By all accounts, he was all about Neve so this other woman... Where the hell'd she come from?

That answer came as the story progressed. I was glad to know the other woman wasn't his fiancee but a girl he'd known most of his life. Their relationship was platonic, at least to Rory, until he spoke words to her when she was younger and she took them seriously. Her outburst during his and Neve's time together was understandable given what she believed. Rory handled it because he knew he'd have to if he was going to win Neve back.

Except, for Neve, she was already in the process of moving on. Not with another man but with life in general. She was leaving, moving on to someplace where she could start over. But sometimes starting over someplace completely new doesn't bring about the happiness one really wants. Sometimes it's found with the one person who knows you inside and out and loves you despite what they know.

Rory and Neve had to work (really hard) to get their happy ending. Of all the issues this couple faced, it was Neve's desire for a fresh start, her past, and her future as a dancer that created the biggest roadblocks. She was, honestly, her own worst enemy. Her time to herself did two things: put her future in perspective (it was a million times better with Rory in it), and allowed her to reconcile her past.

Be forewarned: there is a lot going on in this story. I had to read it more than once just to make sure I understood what the hell was going on. A first read through left me confused as hell and I wasn't actually clear about anything until the third time through. If you're looking for a quick "makes sense" story, this isn't it. You will need time and you will need patience. The story comes together at the end and makes every battle this couple faced worth it. They were better together, stronger together, and ready for whatever the future brought their way.




Wendy S. Marcus is an award-winning author of contemporary romance. A nurse by trade, Wendy holds a Master of Science in Health Care Administration, a degree that does her absolutely no good as she now spends her days, nights, and weekends mucking around in her characters’ lives creating conflict, emotion, and, of course, a happily ever after. Wendy lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley region of New York. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her dog Buddy, and blogging/ emailing/ tweeting/ facebooking with her online friends.


1 comment: