If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Friday, November 6, 2015

Review: Bearing It All by Vonnie Davis / @TastyBookTours @VonnieWrites



Title: Bearing It All
Series: Highlander's Beloved, Book 3
Author: Vonnie Davis
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: October 27, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours


A Scottish hunter and a French secret agent find themselves on a collision course with danger—and irresistible desire—in Vonnie Davis’s new bear-shifting Highlander novel, perfect for fans of Jennifer Ashley and Shelly Laurenston.

In the pine-dense mountains of the Scottish Highlands, shape-shifter Ronan Matheson is running free when a desperate woman parachutes out of the sky, directly onto his furry, powerful chest. Instead of clawing her to death, Ronan’s inner bear longs to keep her safe. Once he’s back in human form, Ronan is amused by the mysterious beauty’s fearless attitude—and tempted by her expertly toned physique. But what could she possibly be doing in this isolated stretch of the Highlands?

French intelligence agent Anisa Brosseau never imagined she’d be on the CIA’s bad side—until she’s framed for treason and forced to flee in a stolen drone. Hiding out in a remote cabin, Anisa just needs some time to clear her name. What she doesn’t need is a brooding, muscle-bound Scot in a skimpy kilt to drive her crazy with lust. But when Anisa’s enemies come knocking on his door, Ronan calls on a secret weapon to protect his turf and the bonny lass he’s come to love.



Other books in this series

A little bit of R&R is all Ronan wants. A place to hide is what Anisa needs. Her crashed plane. His isolated cabin. Attraction, banter, and sex.

From the minute Ronan hears Anisa cursing as she falls to earth, I knew she wouldn't be a soft woman. I guess she couldn't be considering her profession. She gives no quarter with Ronan, which is perfect because Ronan's bear is...childish it seems. Not that Ronan minds. His attraction to Anisa is mutual, even if she disrupted his peace and quiet and is keeping secrets about her sudden landing in Middle-Of-Nowhere Scotland.

I like this story. It has adventure and action, attraction and a happy ending. I've read the first two books and was curious to know about Ronan. But I wasn't, honestly, prepared for the instalust and instalove that occurs between him and Anisa. The connection they'd made years before wasn't really... I don't know, solid? Absolute? Not sure of the word here, but it didn't seem enough for this connection to be built on.

While I put this book down feeling slightly disappointed, I am glad I read it. I loved getting to know Ronan in the other books. Giving him his own story made me remember why I wanted him to have his own. I just wish his relationship with Anisa hadn't happened so quickly.

If you've read the first two books, you may or may not enjoy this one. I'm still on the fence and may need to re-read it at a later time for me to maybe feel something more about Ronan and Anisa than I do now. But if you don't mind the instalust/instalove aspect, if you enjoy good humor and strong-willed characters, I hope you give this story a try.


Vonnie Davis, who studied English at Penn State, likens herself to a croissant: crusty, wrinkled, flaky—and best served with strong coffee. After a career as a technical writer, she’s spending her retirement playing fairy godmother to her characters, giving them their happily-ever-afters. Six fantastic, talented kids call her “Grandma” and brighten her world in so many ways. She lives in Southern Virginia with her husband, author Calvin Davis.


2 comments: