If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Review: Just Realized by Lucy Gage / @MyFamHrtBookRvw @LucyGageAuthor

Title: Just Realized
Series: Ward Sisters, Book 6
Author: Lucy Gage
Publisher: Patricia Korbet
Release Date: January 11, 2016
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
ARC Received From & Reviewed For: My Family's Heart

She appears to be the irrepressibly happy girl.
Nina Jacobs has had some rough patches in life, and men have always disappointed her. The day Owen Nichols drops into her world, the last thing she expects to happen is happily ever after.

He gravitates toward the role of knight in shining armor for damsels in distress.
Sergeant Owen Nichols has a bad habit of being the rebound guy. When he meets Nina Jacobs, he recognizes the moment where preparation meets opportunity.

Some life lessons have to be earned the hard way.
Owen is determined to prove worthy of Nina's trust, and they form an unshakable bond of friendship that she can't believe—and he dares not presume—is more. Can Owen find the courage to leap before she rediscovers her heart with someone else? Or will Nina realize that she already has everything she needs with the man who has become her best friend?

Other books in this series

I liked how this story opened with Nina and Owen's first meeting. From there, it's backstory, bringing the reader up to speed on where each was in life before that fateful meeting. After that, it's Owen and Nina navigating the waters of what's happening between them despite their pasts and the uncertainty of their future.

This is a beautiful friends to lovers romance, a perfect depiction (to me) of what love and friendship looks like when it's given the space and time to grow. That isn't to say it grew without opposition. It was there, in varying degrees for each. Some was external. Most was internal.

Learning to love and believing you are worthy of love were the most important lessons in this story. Owen and Nina have been hurt before yet each, in this setting, have the chance to let go of that hurt and let what they have (and could have) replace it. This is where they needed to trust wholeheartedly and take that leap of faith into the unknown.

The jump was totally worth it.

This is my first Lucy Gage story. I'm so very glad to have met her through this book. She penned a heart-wrenching tale that was more than just a romance. It was a journey, a walk through life in the shoes of two very different people who deserved so much more than what they already had.

Lucy Gage started her writing career under another name, but the same vivid imagination and love of books still fuels her daily life. When she's not writing, you can find her spending time with her family in her home state of Maine, experiencing a life that helps shape her writing.

She loves to hear from fans, and appreciates that they asked about her writing while she took this last year to focus on other parts of her life. Look for her website in 2016. Ward Sisters Series Book #7, Think of Me, will arrive in 2016. Book 1 in the Vega Brothers Series—a Ward Sisters spinoff—launches later in the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment