If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. - Oscar Wilde
We shouldn't teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. - B. F. Skinner
No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. - Mary Wortley Montagu

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Review: Wish List by Belinda Williams / @TastyBookTours @bwilliamsbooks



Title: Wish List
Series: City Love, Book 4
Author: Belinda Williams
Publisher: Momentum
Release Date: May 26, 2016
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
ARC Received From: NetGalley
Reviewed For: Tasty Book Tours

Follow the tour


COULD THE WRONG MAN ON PAPER BE THE PERFECT MAN IN REAL LIFE?

Cate Harmon likes lists. While this may serve her well as a financial planner, her girlfriends think that creating a checklist for her ideal man is going a step too far. But she has one, and she’s sticking to it.

Cate has always dreamed of starting a family and settling down and yet she’s the only one of her close knit friendship group still unattached. But that doesn’t mean she’s going to lower her standards.

Enter Dave, a reformed bad boy with gorgeous hair and eyes the wrong color. Dave doesn’t tick any of the boxes on Cate’s list. It’s unthinkable that she would develop feelings for him, and yet … Cate finds herself being drawn to Dave in a way she’s never felt before.

Will Cate confront the reasons behind her list? Or will she risk losing a man who could be better than any list she could ever dream up?

This romance where opposites attract is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, Victoria Dahl, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Goodreads

Other books in this series


There was definitely more to this story than I thought there'd be. While an Ideal Man Wish List is a great focal point, the bigger story was why the list existed in the first place.

I don't know a single woman who has ever created a real Ideal Man Wish List. Every woman I know would say what she hoped the man she married would be like. Some wound up with him, some found love with someone who was the total opposite. This was Cate.

My heart bled for her as the tragedy of her past was revealed and I realized why she was dead set on finding a man who fulfilled every box on her checklist. But I was also elated that Dave was nothing like her Ideal Man. Because he was her Perfect Man.

He wasn't perfect in the flawless sense. He was perfect because he fit her. He made her feel appreciated, wanted, needed, and loved. To be truthful, I think that's what all women want in a partner, to feel all of those things without having to change to be those things.

There is a span of time when Cate and Dave separate. Now, my opinion, separation can be a good thing but forgiveness shouldn't be so easily given when the couple is brought back together again. The reason for separating is monumental. The path to happiness isn't paved with gold or smooth tiles. It requires work, and work means explanations and that internal struggle of forgiving or not forgiving. While I was happy they got together again, I wanted more of that internal struggle and the realization that forgiving was okay, that moving on together was completely possible.

I didn't read the other books in this series but this book reads (somewhat) as a standalone. I say somewhat because Cate's friends have already had their stories and they're featured in this one as well. Knowing something about each friend will help understand their roles in Cate's romance. Even without that knowledge, this is an enjoyable read. It's quirky and cute but emotional and evocative revolving around a tried and true trope many romance readers are familiar with and, possible, enjoy.




Belinda is a marketing communications specialist and copywriter who allowed an addiction to romance and chick-lit to get the better of her. She was named a top ten finalist in the Romance Writers of Australia Emerald Award in both 2013 and 2014.

Her other addictions include music and cars. Belinda’s eclectic music taste forms the foundation of many of her writing ideas and her healthy appreciation for fast cars means she would not so secretly love a Lamborghini. For now she’ll have to settle with her son’s Hot Wheels collection and writing hot male leads with sports cars.

Belinda lives in Sydney and blogs regularly about writing and reading at www.belindawilliamsbooks.com.

4 comments:

  1. Thank you for featuring WISH LIST!! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for having me on your blog and I'm glad you enjoyed Wish List :)

    ReplyDelete